Medieval ManFish

Medieval Creature Man Fish Carving Drawing

Illustration of a Medieval Chest Carving

Yes, I bet that post title got your attention! Haven’t managed to do much painting this week, so I give you this little drawing of a detail from a medieval chest I once saw. The frieze on the chest was about four inches high (nine cm), but had the most remarkable detail. It  was in a stately home in the West Country, but I didn’t note down where, so alas, I’ve no idea where you’ll find it.

I love medieval carvings and art. If you like them too, there’s a very good book you may care to look at – The Medieval Menagerie by Janetta Rebold Benton – and you can also find some at Into the Hermitage from the hugely talented and amazing Rima Staines
And if anyone finds the name of this creature, which is surely not ‘ManFish’!, then I’d be pleased to know it.

Hope you have a good weekend.

